Nightmares

No matter what you hear, no matter how badly you want to, do NOT open your eyes.

Welcome to the final Time Warp Saturday. After this week’s post I will be caught up from joining the WonHundred Word Wednesday group after it had begun. For the past several weeks I have been completing the earlier prompt. Now with my entry for May 28, 2014, that goal is complete.

bordersmall

I covered my eyes and chanted. “Go away. Go away. Go away.”

I wished for Dad’s comfort. His promise in the sunlit kitchen seemed silly. “No matter what you hear, no matter how badly you want to, do NOT open your eyes. It’s not real. They’ll leave and you’ll sleep soundly. Just ignore them.” The words felt hallow.

The dresser thumped. I clutched my blanket more tightly. They weren’t just under the bed anymore.

“Daddy!” I screamed opening my eyes to the familiar nightmares. I could hear his feet running in the hallway. Would he be quicker than my monsters?

bordersmall

If you haven’t already, check out the rest from the present!

Alison Woods (Peering Into. . .): alisonmillerwoods.wordpress.com
Amryn Scott: wildscottkids.wordpress.com
Angela Schroeder: angelaschroederauthor.blogspot.com
Caleb Warnock: http://calebwarnock.blogspot.com
Canda Mortensen: candamortensen.blogspot.com
Ginny Romney: romneyrants.blogspot.com
Jaclyn Weist: jaclynweist.blogspot.com
Jenifer Lee: http://www.myfam-i-lee.blogspot.com/
Jessica Winn, The Distracted Writer: thedistractedwriter.com
K.R. Wilburn: krwilburnbooks.com/blog
Kaye P. Clark: kayepclarkwriter.blogspot.com
Kelly Martin, Author: www.kellymartinbooks.blogspot.com
Laura D. Bastian: www.lauradbastian.com
Leah Sanders, inklings: inklings-leahsanders.blogspot.com
Lindzee Armstrong/Lydia Winters: lindzeearmstrong.blogspot.com
Miranda D. Nelson: www.mirandadnelson.blogspot.com
R.K. Grow: www.rkgtheauthor.com
Starimprint http://starimprint.blogspot.com/
Stephanie Worlton’s Kreating Krazy blog: stephanieworlton.blogspot.com
Wendy Knight, Author: www.wendyknightauthor.blogspot.com

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on StumbleUpon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *